RSS

I’m doing what now?

06 Sep

Hi all,

I feel like I should take a moment to explicate, maybe mostly for myself, just what it is I am doing here. So here goes:

I am hoping to present this blog for two purposes, first as something of a resource for people who may be reading the Norothian Cycle (The Sable City, Death of a Kingdom, The Wind from Miilark, et al). Here will be posted the maps, glossary, short histories, etc. defining the “world” of my Musket & Magic fantasy stories, or basically the background I couldn’t reasonably get into the books themselves without swamping the stories. I’m the kind of reader who loves all this stuff, but not everybody is, nor should they be. Some readers and reviewers have really liked how much “back-story” is in the books, some have felt it’s already too much, some wanted more. Can’t please everybody, so I’ll just stick with trying to please myself most days. 😉

So for those wanting more, it will be accessible here. I should say that the world of the Cycle (basically the four continents ringing the Interminable Ocean, with the Islands of Miilark in the center) has been “built” to an exhaustive, some would say psychotic, level. It was something of a hobby for me for about ten years, writing a history of a world immersed in the tropes of magic and fantasy, sort of playing-out how those things would have influenced cultural, political, technologic, and economic development on a scale of centuries. The last thing I wanted my fantasy setting to be was a quasi Medieval Europe with some orcs and wizards running around, and that is definitely not what I wound-up with.

However, as all the building was done by hand – chicken-scrawl notebooks and colored-pencil maps – it is a bit laborious to get it up on a blog in a legible form. Right now there is a glossary (to which I keep adding), a handful of “local” maps, and a couple short(ish) histories of specific nations or regions. More is to come, though time constraints are thus-far keeping me from putting serious work on the other half of this blog project.

That is the more “writerly” part, I suppose, wherein I kvetch and opine about, you know, writerly stuff. There will be more of that as well, in time, and then the thing I am most looking forward to: Introducing some of the really cool Indie writers I have met since going down this whacky road, beginning last March. I’m likely to start with my fellow members of the Eclective, who you can meet for yourselves right now via that button over yonder –> (hey! I made a button!).

In closing then, yes, I am not posting a whole lot right now here, though things are always being added under those buttons across the top. Still, I hope readers interested are able to find some additional materials here that will broaden the world where Tilda & Co. are at play, and hopefully others can find a little amusement, or heaven forefend, a thought that might generate a bit of talk.

Thanks for stopping by, do mind the sawhorses and sparking wires, this place is still Under Construction.

Ed

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2011 in Writing

 

Tags:

11 responses to “I’m doing what now?

  1. susanjeanricci

    September 6, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Mike, I love this blog, and the creatures I imagine you create. Maps, too. Great site!

     
    • medmcn

      September 6, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Thanks, Sue. Hoping to make more available as I get my “blogging” feet wet. 🙂

       
  2. Mo

    September 7, 2011 at 6:36 am

    I’ve got a question, while we’re at it. Did you model the nations/empires in the Norothian Cycle after any particular nations/cultures that existed historically in real life? The Miilark islands seem a bit like the Greek islands (Crete, etc), but that’s just a guess.

     
  3. medmcn

    September 7, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Hi, Mo. It’s a good question, though one that I probably have to answer “yes and no.” Some of the polities probably resemble real-world nations, at some historical point, more than others. i.e, “Ashinan” in the Farthest West looks an awful, awful lot like Feudal Japan under the Shogunate; daimyo and samurai, something of a “bakufu” national government, etc. Though it doesn’t fully start to come out until later in the series, the empires of the world tend to follow different, and sometimes competing models. Karkamesh and Xosha, which “appear” starting in book3, have some similarities to the Roman and Mesoamerican “models” of empire building. Codia, the “main stage” of the stories, is actually a bit Late Austro-Hungarian, and even Ottoman, in some of its institutions and traditions.

    Now, Miilark, which in a lot of ways is where I started this process. That society actually came out of an historical “what if?” which goes something like: What if the crew of the HMS Bounty didn’t settle on Pitcarin Island and spend the rest of their days eating melons? What if they had landed in Hawaii at a time the islands had at fairly vibrant clan/tribal government who took one look at the ship and thought: Hey, we could build some of those ourselves?

    Basically, Miilark has evolved into a mercantile trade empire more analagous to the Dutch or the Portugese in the Pacific, with the addendum that they are “indigenous,” not run by a distant continental power.

    So, yes, there are historical elements for a lot of the nations of the world in my head, along with some fantasy ones for the Dwarves of Garak-Tor, the Faeste Elves, etc. The thing that keeps me interested (if I may be so bold) while writing the stories is to find out how all these places, and the people who live there, interact, which of course they never did. Not in the real-world. 😉

     
    • Mo

      September 8, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      Very interesting, thanks. I do love me some history! 🙂

       
  4. Red Tash

    September 16, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Isn’t it awesome, the power of clarifying your intentions?

    Thanks again for joining me at the Trick or Treat Bash. Can’t wait to see what the grand prize winner thinks of our books, on his/her new Kindle. 🙂

     
    • medmcn

      September 16, 2011 at 8:19 pm

      Thanks for including me in that, Red (everybody please check it out :-), and sorry I’ve been so derelict in spreading the word, been going up with book III the last couple days. I will be tweeting/sharing/et al it some more, I promise. http://redtash.com/bash

       
  5. Red Tash

    September 16, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    It’s truly my pleasure. Plenty of time to promote over the next month. (Gah!)

     
  6. nikki Broadwell

    September 17, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    what a great idea! there are a lot of things I’ve left out of my book because I was afraid of boring my readers–the blog could be a place for questions or just extras about the world or the characters etc…

     
    • medmcn

      September 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      Yup, that’s what I’m hoping, Nikki. And by putting links in an e-book, anybody who wants to know more can come here directly even on an e-reader, while others can just read the books without being bothered by too much they might find extraneous. That’s the plan, anyway. 🙂

       
  7. Rachel

    September 30, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Red sent me. RedTash.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
