RSS

Three books, Indie-Indie-Indie.

21 Sep

Books I-III of the Norothian Cycle.

Well, it’s official.  Over the last half-week or so, with invaluable assistance from friends, Volume Three of the Norothian Cycle is now available at the usual sites for e-books, meaning Tilda’s tale is a trilogy.

But not just a trilogy, a 450,000 word oeuvre, which seems kinda excessive even to me. When I realized that together the three volumes are together pushing a half-million words, it was almost like a moment of clarity. But then it passed, and I realized once again how glad I am to be living and working in Indie World.

Let’s face it, the first thing anybody “in the industry” would do with a book like The Sable City (Book I), which weighs in at a brisk 180K, is start hacking stuff out of it. There’s a lot of characters, do we need them all? There’s historical background, readers won’t like that. This is supposed to be a fantasy book and parts touch on economics, culture, and technological development. Could we lose that in exchange for another sword fight?

Look, I am not saying those are not all fair points, and any of the above is certainly a viable way to make the book and the series more accessible to a greater number of people by simply targeting it more specifically to that Holy Grail of marketing: The Least Common Denominator.

Yeah, this where might start coming off as an Elitist Snob, but honestly, I’m not making a qualitative judgment here. I love a good, fun, light read every now and again, too.  They are great.  But that doesn’t mean that should be all there is.

So, Indie World.  Indie writers writing what they want to write, listening to the opinions of those they like and respect, but not being told what to do.  Sure, such a policy will tend to generate a lot of unreadable, self-indulgent crap.  But it seems to me the Publishing Industry is not exactly immune to that either.

At this point, I have written three, loooong books, I had fun doing it, and they are the kind of books I like: Character-driven, but hopefully with something a bit more than that underpinning the stories. Depth that can be enjoyed if it’s your sort of thing, or which you can just skim until the next samurai or succubus shows up. But it’s there, and it’s up to readers to read it or not, and enjoy it or not. Thus far I’ve had reviewers say they thought there was too much background, while others said they really liked the background, and I have been gratified to find that it really didn’t make that much difference as to whether they liked the books, overall. All that stuff is just one element of the stories, which I firmly believe would not be there at all had I gone about this publishing thing in the “traditional” way.

Indie World, y’all. Not just Indie authors, but even better: Indie Readers. How cool is that, for everybody? 🙂

Thanks always for reading,

Ed

The Norothian Cycle

Book I – The Sable City 

http://www,amazon.com/dp/B004PLNNLS

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Sable-City/M-Edward-McNally/e/2940013131484

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/46661

Book II – Death of a Kingdom

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0057GII6U

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Death-of-a-Kingdom/M-Edward-McNally/e/2940012870391

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/68231

Book III – The Wind from Miilark (NEW)

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005NFNZUE

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Wind-From-Miilark/M-Edward-McNally/e/2940013386747

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/90628

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in The Norothian Cycle, Writing

 

11 responses to “Three books, Indie-Indie-Indie.

  1. Red Tash

    September 21, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Conga Rats, Ed! You’re an experienced writer & an even more experienced reader, and WHO KNOWS better than you how long the story needed to be? I’m sure when it’s all said and done, it will feel far too short! Time to celebrate!

     
    • medmcn

      September 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      Thanks much, Red. Conga rats are awesome. 🙂

       
  2. Ben White

    September 21, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    To be honest I skip some of the background, but I kind of like that it’s there. In any case, one of the things I like about good indie books is that they’re the story the author wanted to tell, without interference. In this regard, they’re one of the most pure forms of art in the world today.

     
    • medmcn

      September 21, 2011 at 11:18 pm

      I agree Ben, just less eloquently. And are you aware that profile pic makes you look kinda like chlorophyll under a microscope? 😉

       
  3. John H. Carroll (@kookoo88)

    September 22, 2011 at 12:05 am

    It feels really good to finish a trilogy. 🙂 Mine is only 335,000 words, so I’m impressed by how much you’ve written. I own book 1 and need to get around to reading it!

    Congratulations. I honestly know what an accomplishment it is.

    John

     
    • medmcn

      September 22, 2011 at 1:44 am

      Thanks, John. Now if only it *was* just a trilogy. 😉

       
  4. Pj Jones

    September 22, 2011 at 4:12 am

    So you’re giving me permission to skim the depth for a succubus? How very nice of you. I’ve never had an author tell me to do that before.

    Congrats on all those words! I do have book I and plan on reading it when my life slows down in a few weeks. I do so love your shorts.

     
    • medmcn

      September 22, 2011 at 4:48 am

      Thanks PJ, and check out some of my shorter stories, too, if you get the chance. (zing!) 😉

       
  5. Rachel

    September 28, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    “Trick or Treat! Thanks for playing Red’s Trick or Treat Bash! I’m looking forward to reading your book on my new Kindle! RedTash.com, Red sent me!”

     
  6. Karen Haight

    October 7, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Red sent me!

    http://redtash.com/

     
  7. Na S.

    October 7, 2011 at 7:17 am

    I have been reading a lot of indie books lately and really enjoyed them. Whether they are indie or not I tend to like long stories so long as the story is interesting. If I had to choose between a short good book or a long way, I would choose the latter. I like to stay in a world as long as possible and hold on to the characters. I can see the upside of going indie and having control over your work is one of them. Wishing your trilogy all the best.

    Thanks for being part of Red’s Trick or Treat Bash! RedTash.com, Red sent me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
